My chilly walk this morning, down in San Jose along the Guadalupe River Walk, happened past a man by the orchard who was feeding these lambs. I’d never seen lambs in the orchard here before. The man didn’t speak any English so I don’t know why they are there or how he came to be there with feed and milk for them. 

Media_httpfarm5static_czzke

He was uncomfortable with me making a portrait of him feeding them, my lack of language to communicate with him, but the lambs were unafraid. This one followed me along the fence for several minutes and didn’t bolt when I came quite close. 

As I said, chilly out this morning. Met up with friends and had coffee at the shop nearby. It’s that quiet time, between the poles of the holidays, when not much seems to go on and the world is somehow a little distant. I have the apartment to myself this week, and most friends are out of town. Time to think, to read, to study. 

Reading a book on Zen Buddhism, and another on the craft of seeing images, and a novel. Simultaneously. 

Yes, it’s that quiet time … 

Photography Workshops Update 

Here’s what’s on my workshop calendar coming up in January …

January 9-10 :: Lightroom: Starting In The Middle

A two-session workshop for photographers interested to learn how to use Adobe Lightroom. No prerequisites, some familiarity with Photoshop and image processing workflow is helpful. Students are welcome to bring a library of their own work, either on external hard drive or laptop.

January 23-24 :: Creating B&W Photographs: A Digital Approach

A two-day, hands-on workshop exploring the creation and rendering of black and white photographs using digital technology. Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom image processing application approaches will be shown. You will be guided through a variety of different rendering approaches and printing techniques. The class will focus on doing, be prepared to bring your own photographs to work on! No prerequisites required, some background in using Photoshop or Lightroom is helpful. 

Offered at the Media Center, 900 San Antonio Road, Palo Alto, California, USA

For more information and registration see the website – http://www.midpenmedia.org/ 
or call Dave Sorokach (650-494-8686) at the Media Center, or email me directly. 

