Well, I was supposed to be out of town this weekend, and was looking forward to the trip quite a lot. But then “Things Happened” and I could not go. Bummer. So I thought I’d catch up on stuff here at home, and did to some degree but didn’t really get much done. Double bummer. Such it is. 

At least I spent some time with a few photos that have been waiting for me to work on them. That makes me happy.

Have airport duty this afternoon which brought this photo taken last Monday to mind … 

Media_httpfarm3staticflickrcom26454161191189416f1dde04ojpg_hvtehpvhhdadjib

I like airports, at least when I’m not rushing for a connection. “The interactions of people moving with purpose.” I found some others taken earlier this year on my trip to Denver that I haven’t processed yet, expect a few more soon. 

Photography Workshops Update 

My last Photoshop workshop of the year will be held this coming Thursday and Friday evenings. There are seats available: sign up this week! 

Here’s what’s on the calendar…

December 10-11 :: Photoshop for Photographers: A Simple Approach

This two-session workshop focuses on learning how to get the most from just a few of Photoshop’s tools to achieve great results. In both lecture and lab time, we will examine computer and Photoshop set up, how to use adjustment layers and masks. We’ll discuss the concepts of sharpening, and go over printing fundamentals. No prior Photoshop experience required. 

January 9-10 :: Lightroom: Starting In The Middle

A two-session workshop for photographers interested to learn how to use Adobe Lightroom. No prerequisites, some familiarity with Photoshop and image processing workflow is helpful. Students are welcome to bring a library of their own work, either on external hard drive or laptop.

January 23-24 :: Creating B&W Photographs: A Digital Approach

A two-day, hands-on workshop exploring the creation and rendering of black and white photographs using digital technology. Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom image processing application approaches will be shown. You will be guided through a variety of different rendering approaches and printing techniques. The class will focus on doing, be prepared to bring your own photographs to work on! No prerequisites required, some background in using Photoshop or Lightroom is helpful. 

Offered at the Media Center, 900 San Antonio Road, Palo Alto, California, USA

For more information and registration see the website – http://www.midpenmedia.org/ – or call Dave Sorokach (650-494-8686) at the Media Center, or email me directly. 

