As the Fall continues in its arc to Year’s End and slowly migrates into the holidays and Winter, I find myself becoming more and more meditative and silent. I seek quiet and simplicity, I read books that draw me into thought and away from the world. 

A walk the other day as early evening fell and I came on a sidewalk cafe, all tables ready to serve but empty due to the chill in the air. This composition of spice shakers on a table fit my mood perfectly. Their monochromatic simplicity and the subtle textures lingered in my mind for several hours.

Media_httpfarm3staticflickrcom257241068723135504262c35ojpg_cewjwalssfcqulc

In the meantime, it has been a couple of weeks of intense business and work. I delivered my fourth workshop (this time on using Lightroom) at the Media Center a weekend ago. Another fine classroom of participants, I truly enjoyed the experience of working with them all. The Media Center folks have been very supportive of these efforts; they have given me the opportunity to offer more workshops in December and January. I’ll put a list down at the bottom of this post. 

The other intense work has been that I signed up for and am taking a workshop on Studio Production for television. Amazing fun, it is a kick to work in a crew environment. As photographers, we spend much of our time in solitary pursuit of our vision … not so in the video and film industry. I’m enjoying it very much indeed, and will likely also try to get into the Field Production workshop next month, if I can find the time. What I’ll do with these new skills is unknown at present, but the joy of doing has a powerful way of getting me involved with new projects and ideas. 

As I wrote this, J.R.R. Tolkien came to mind …

“The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And whither then? I cannot say. …”

Seems to nail my mood exactly right now. 

On to following the Fall and another walk on this chill Sunday eve. 

Upcoming Photography Workshops at the Media Center: 

December 10-11 :: Photoshop for Photographers: A Simple Approach
January 9-10 :: Lightroom: Starting In The Middle
January 23-24 :: Creating B&W Photographs: A Digital Approach

Offered at the Media Center, 900 San Antonio Road, Palo Alto, California, USA
For more information and registration see the website – http://www.midpenmedia.org/ – or write me directly. 
