I saw this morning that the winning entries from the Scott Kelby Worldwide Photowalk, July 18, 2009 are now posted. Some excellent photos! 

http://www.scottkelby.com/blog/2009/archives/6047

That got me thinking to revisit my other photos from the walk. I was much taken with the Silent Film Museum in Niles, in which they have a wonderful collection of silent film era cameras, projectors and other bric-a-brac of the movie industry from that time. 

Media_httpfarm4staticflickrcom34983830987600871f6dc7fcojpg_ybiedwufegkfrxf

Beautiful old piece of equipment that one! 

Speaking of movies, on Saturday evening we went to see the film District 9. I hadn’t heard about this film before, a friend suggested it. Turned out to be quite a stunner: excellent script, well considered and poignant. Science fiction with a social message, the best kind of Science Fiction IMO. From reading about it afterwards, done on a relatively small budget too. Excellent work from Director Neill Blomkamp with a no-stars cast … just great movie making. Bravo! 

I love movies. 

Wandering back through my Niles photos, I found this one too … 

Media_httpfarm4staticflickrcom34473830191943168d179904ojpg_phxeujuocehccfb

Not a “great” photograph, I don’t think, but I like how the dull surface of the film can captured me in reflection… A self portrait caught in my long-ago fascination with doing film.

Hmm. With all the film cameras enabled to do video as well we’re seeing lately, who knows? I might yet do some motion picture work. It would be fun.
