Our world is changing so rapidly. When I was a child, I remember seeing scenes like this so often that I never really thought about them as anything special.

 

Media_httpfarm3staticflickrcom259438235499405df8d1dccdojpg_krhofhgfbwrflgd

 Nowadays, I cannot recall the last time I saw a Sister in religious habit, never mind three together, walking in public. I was compelled to make an exposure.

 A few weeks ago, I realized that I had the John Varley Titan trilogy on my bookshelves and I hadn’t read them in many years. I could not recall any details of the story. I decided to re-read them.

 Simple, fun, science fiction stories, with a very 1960s-1970s feel. Unusual for the time in that most of the strongest characters are women. I finished the second book on my way home from Tijuana a couple of weeks ago, just picked up the third the other day.

 I opened it’s pages and a photograph fell out. A photograph … a time capsule. A group shot of myself and seven friends from 1986, people I knew (know!) when I lived and worked at the Jet Propulsion Lab in Pasadena. I look at my face, our faces, and see the movement in time to that which I see in the mirror this morning. Think of the movement in place and time of the 23 years’ span from then to now. I am still in contact with most of the people in the picture, even if our connection is somewhat more distant, more tenuous now.

 We are all of us in motion. It is good to remember to look, to see how the motion changes. How the motion changes us.

 I wonder where the Sisters were going.

